Inland from the coastal resorts of Salt Rock and Sheffield Beach is the farming village of Umhlali. Established by English and Scottish settlers in 1850, Umhlali was the site of a fort which led to it originally being called Fort William. Umhlali is the Zulu name for the Monkey Orange tree which grew abundantly along the banks of the Umhlali River. The name also means 'place of waiting', because settlers and locals would have to wait on the river bank before crossing the water. Umhlali has a quaint and unique Sugar Village theme, offering home-made treats and fresh farm produce. Future plans include the establishment of a Sugar Museum to allow visitors the chance to witness the crushing of sugar cane and sample the iced juice. Highlight of the collection of historic memorabilia will be a locomotive originally used for hauling cane to the mill. For more information on Umhlali please use the following menu.